Nobel Laureate in Literature Longlisted for 2010 Prize

Judges announced today writers from Japan, China, India and the Philippines in the longlist for the 2010 Man Asian Literary Prize. The longlist includes Japanese writer, Kenzaburo Oe, who won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1994.

2010 Longlist

Three Sisters by Bi Feiyu

Way to Go by Upamanyu Chatterjee

Dahanu Road by Anosh Irani

Serious Men by Manu Joseph

The Thing About Thugs by Tabish Khair

Tiger Hills by Sarita Mandanna

The Changeling by Kenzaburo Oe

Hotel Iris by Yoko Ogawa

Monkey-man by Usha K.R.

Below the Crying Mountain by Criselda Yabes



It is an immense pleasure to be involved in the judging for this year’s Man Asian Literary Prize. The judges have encountered the best of new fiction from across the region, from India to China, from the Philippines to Japan, and the long list reflects this diversity. As a reader I have been entertained, moved, and also informed - new worlds have opened up. Most of all, I have enjoyed the elan, the verve and the elegance of my favourite novels. I’m looking forward to arguing for their place on the short list.  

– Monica Ali, 2010 Judge (Chair)

The three distinguished judges for this year’s Prize are Monica Ali, Homi K. Bhabha and Hsu-Ming Teo.  

Press Release

PrintView Printer Friendly Version