2011 Man Asian Literary Prize Longlist Announcement

October 29, 2011 Singapore Writers Festival


Chair Judge Razia Iqbal announces the 2011 Longlist


Novels of epic scale and ambition head 2011 Man Asian Literary Prize Longlist

Twelve novels from Japan, Iran, China, India, Pakistan, South Korea and Bangledesh have today been announced as the longlist for the 2011 Man Asian Literary Prize.

2011 Longlist

JAMIL AHMAD (Pakistan) - The Wandering Falcon

TAHMIMA ANAM (Bangladesh) - The Good Muslim

JAHNAVI BARUA (India) - Rebirth

RAHUL BHATTACHARYA (India) - The Sly Company of People Who Care


AMITAV GHOSH (India) - River of Smoke


ANURADHA ROY (India) - The Folded Earth

KYUNG-SOOK SHIN (South Korea) - Please Look After Mom

TARUN J TEJPAL (India) - The Valley of Masks

YAN LIANKE (China) - Dream of Ding Village



In scope, range and subject matter, our longlist presents us with the epic as well as the quotidian, the established writers as well as some on the cusp of greater success. But what connects them is a thing that happens when we read good fiction: the cumulative impact of sentence after good sentence is transforming for the reader. So, while it is hoped that the list reflects among the best of what is coming out of Asia, it also presents Asia to itself, an equally important mirror to hold up.

- Razia Iqbal, 2011 Judge (Chair)


The judges for this year’s 2011 Prize are Pulitzer-prize finalist and author of The Surrendered, Chang-rae Lee, and Vikas Swarup, author of Q&A which was filmed as the Oscar-winning Slumdog Millionaire. The judging panel of three is chaired by BBC Special Correspondent Razia Iqbal.

Press Release


2011 Prize Longlist Announcement on Oct 29th

The Man Asian Literary Prize Longlist Announcement

October 29th 2011 (Sat)

5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

The Salon, National Museum of Singapore

Featuring: Vikas Swarup, Manu Joseph, Bi Feiyu

Got a pressing question to ask about one of Asia’s most prestigious literary awards? Need inspiration for your next novel? Come join these Man Asian Literary Prize (MALP) winners, nominees and judges, as they share more about their works and the role literary prizes have in developing writers. Most importantly, be the first to learn which authors make the longlist of the 2011 prize as it will be announced here! 90 books have been entered in 2011 from Iran to Japan and from Mongolia to Singapore. Eagerly awaited by media around the world, the announcement will be beamed globally via live streaming. Featuring Q&A author and MALP judge, Vikas Swarup, 2010 MALP winner Bi Feiyu and two shortlisted author, Manu Joseph, this session will be hosted by David Parker, Chair of the Board of Directors of the MALP. 

Register here

Watch the announcement LIVE here at & follow the event on Twitter at @MALPrize #MALPrize11, as well as on Facebook at

Press Release


2010 MALP Writers to appear in Edinburgh International Book Festival

The Man Asian Literary Prize presents the best of Asian literature in the UK

Three writers shortlisted for the 2010 Man Asian Literary Prize will appear at the Edinburgh International Book Festival this August.

The 2010 Man Asian winner and author of Three Sisters Bi Feiyu will appear at the Festival on the 25th August in an event titled Voices of Asian Literature with Manu Joseph and Tabish Khair who were shortlisted for their novels Serious Men and The Thing About Thugs.

The authors will discuss their work as well as debate the future of Asian fiction and its relationship with the Western novel, with the audience in the world famous Spiegeltent.

The event is being proudly supported by the Man Asian Literary Prize. The Edinburgh International Book Festival is the biggest celebration of the written word in the world, drawing over 750 writers to the Scottish capital every year, the world’s first UNESCO City of Literature.

Other Asian authors appearing at the Book Festival include Nobel Laureate Gao Xingjiang, Rahul Bhattacharya, Wang Hui, Mirza Waheed, Chan Koonchung, Kamila Shamsie and many other literary giants from around the world including Audrey Niffenegger, Robert Coover, Edna O’Brien, Alan Hollinghurst, Neil Gaiman, Carol Ann Duffy and Ian Rankin. 

Tickets for the Voices of Asian Literature event on 25th August 2011 featuring the Man Asian Literary Prize writers are available online at