The Prize

The Man Asian Literary Prize was founded in 2007. It is an annual literary award given to the best novel by an Asian writer, either written in English or translated into English, and published in the previous calendar year. The judges choose a longlist of 10 to 15 titles announced in December, followed by a shortlist of 5 to 6 titles announced in January, and a winner is awarded in March. The winning author is awarded USD 30,000 and the translator (if any) USD 5,000. Submissions are invited through publishers based in any country.

The People

David Parker, Executive Director

Justin Hill, Director

David Huddart, Director

Christopher Hutton, Director

Julia Kuehn, Director

Conita Leung, Director

Stephen McCarty, Director

Marina Ma, Prize Manager

Advisory Council

Andre Aciman

Monica Ali

Homi K Bhabha

Rt Hon Adrienne Clarkson

Charles Foran

Razia Iqbal

Nicholas Jose

Chang-rae Lee

Qiu Xiaolong

Vikas Swarup

Hsu-ming Teo

Title Sponsor

The Man Asian Literary Prize is sponsored by Man Group plc. 

Man is a world-leading alternative investment management business. It has expertise in a wide range of liquid investment styles including managed futures, equity, credit and convertibles, emerging markets, global macro and multi-manager, combined with powerful product structuring, distribution and client service capabilities. At 30 September 2012, Man managed US$ 60.0 billon. 

The original business was founded in 1783. Today, Man Group plc is listed on the London Stock Exchange and is a member of the FTSE 250 Index with a market capitalisation of around £ 1.7 billion. Man is a signatory to the United Nations Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI). Man also supports many awards, charities and initiatives around the world, including sponsorship of the Man Booker literary prizes. Further information can be found at